About WEBS Training

WEBS Training is a well-established independent training provider, serving the furniture manufacturing and other sectors for more than 50 years.

 

Originally set up to respond to skills shortages in the furniture manufacturing sector, WEBS now offer a one stop shop to employers having expanded its training and apprenticeship offer of business services support apprenticeships including administration, warehousing, customer service, trade supplier, team leader/supervisor and learning mentor to both levy-paying and small/medium enterprises across all sectors.

Training is currently offered at its Beeston site in Nottingham and on our Employers premises across England.

 

OUR MISSION

 

“To deliver the highest quality industry standard training, whilst being progressive and responsive to the needs of Local and National Employers and Apprentices.”

 

OUR VISION

 

“To be the provider of choice for employers and apprentices alike, across the furniture manufacturing and supporting allied industries sector.

Developing individual’s skills and behaviors to meet the highest of industry standards.”

 

OUR VALUES

 

A.S.P.I.R.E.

 

Aim for all to Aspire to be the best

Support all to Succeed

Promote Pride in all we do

Instill Inspiration and belief

Reward and Respect for all

Enable and Encourage progression

 

MEET THE TEAM

 

James Woolley

James Woolley

Director and Head of Programme Management

j.woolley@webstraining.com

 

Lorraine Jameson

Lorraine Jameson

Director and Head of Business and Quality

l.jameson@webstraining.com

 

Gareth Watson

Gareth Watson

Finance Manager

g.watson@webstraining.com

 

Emma Dougan

Emma Dougan

Business Development Officer

e.dougan@webstraining.com

 

Sharon Hearst

Sharon Hearst

Functional Skills Tutor

s.hearst@webstraining.com

 

Lindsay Brown

Lorraine Jameson

Functional Skills Tutor

l.brown@webstraining.com

 

Paul Cumberpatch

Paul Cumberpatch

Curriculum Manager

p.cumberpatch@webstraining.com

 

Tyna Burnett

Tyna Burnett

Business Services Training Officer

k.burnett@webstraining.com

 

Craig Martin

Craig Martin

Wood Training Officer

c.martin@webstraining.com

 

James Halford

James Halford

Wood Training Officer

j.halford@webstraining.com

 

Jason Winfield

Jason Winfield

Wood Training Officer

j.winfield@webstraining.com

 

Paul Davies

Paul Davies

Installation Training Officer

p.davies@webstraining.com

 

Darren Roberts

Darren Roberts

Installation Training Officer

d.roberts@webstraining.com

 

Daniel Brandt

Daniel Brandt 

Floor Laying Training Officer

info@webstraining.com

Joseph Bryan

Joseph Bryan

Upholstery Training Officer

j.bryan@webstraining.com

 

Kevin Martin

Kevin Martin

Upholstery Training Officer

k.martin@webstraining.com

 

 

OFSTED REPORT

 

WEBS was graded by Ofsted as ‘Good’ in March 2017. Here are some key judgements highlighted by inspectors:

  • Leaders and managers have established excellent working relationships with a wide range of small- and medium-sized employers in the furniture manufacture sector across the East Midlands. Employers work with WEBS trainers and managers to ensure that the design of the apprenticeship programme closely meets their specialist needs, as well as those of their apprentices.
  • Trainers ensure that WEBS’ apprenticeship programme meets in full the principles and requirements of good-quality apprenticeship training. They provide good support and guidance to apprentices. Trainers have extensive industrial experience and work closely with employers to ensure that programmes match apprentices’ workplace needs and aspirations. Apprentices enjoy their learning and value the skills they attain in the training centre and the workplace, and they become very well equipped to succeed in the furniture-making industry.
  • Apprentices are keen to learn and gain the skills to operate specialist machinery and hand tools confidently and quickly. As a result, they contribute well to their employers’ businesses, and many go on to supervisory or technical roles.
  • Apprentices enjoy their work and studies. They become highly confident and are proud of their achievements.
  • Many apprentices improve their standard of work quickly and are able to work at a commercial pace, which employers acknowledge and value….and the enhanced roles that many apprentices are quickly able to perform in the workplace. For example;
  • • One apprentice skilfully upholstered a double sofa, ensuring that they aligned all patterns and that arm pleats were even and consistent across both arms….
  • • One apprentice who was skilled in his role advanced to undertake Team Leader Supervisor and was then able to work with a team ensuring the high standards he held we passed on to ensure quality and high levels of production.
  • • One advanced apprentice was able to demonstrate technically challenging skills in deep-buttoning in a particularly thick, hand-crafted leather sofa.

 

To view our full Inspection report please click here

 

OUR SUCCESS

 

The final validated success rates have now been published for 2017/18.

The overall national success rate is 67.3% (Apprenticeships). This compares with WEBS overall success rate of 78.95%.

When compared against Engineering & Manufacturing which is the bulk of our provision, WEBS is 77.6% compared to a national rate of 71.9% and a provider type of 73.8%.

During 2018/19 we have had 42 apprentices go through the new Apprenticeship Standard End Point Assessment of which 91% achieved at least a pass or above, of which 67% achieved a Distinction.

 

PARTNERS & ACCREDITATIONS